SBS Transit Bus Service 82


Go Ahead Singapore has taken over this Bus Service from 4 Sep 2016.

More about this service at our new site, Land Transport Guru!

Click Here to Continue.

SBS Transit Bus Service 82 is a trunk service plying between Punggol Int and looping at Serangoon Central, passing through Sengkang, Hougang and Kovan.

Route Information
Route Punggol Bus Interchange ↺ Serangoon Central (Loop) 
Passes Through Sengkang, Hougang, Kovan
Route Length 17.5km
Travelling Time 80mins
Operator Information
GCM Route Package
Loyang Bus Package
Current Operator SBS Transit
Current Depot Hougang Bus Depot (HGDEP)
Current Fleet 12-metre Single Deck Bus
– Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro
Volvo B10M Mark IV
Departure Times from T1 0530 – 0030 (Daily)
Frequency Loop Service
0630-0830: 10 – 15 mins
0831-1659: 13 – 15 mins
1700-1930: 10 – 17 mins
After 1930: 13 – 17 mins

Service 82 connects the residential towns of Serangoon, Kovan, Hougang, Sengkang and Punggol. Largely duplicating the North-East Line, this route primarily serves housing blocks near Punggol Road and Hougang Avenue 10 with connections to various NEL stations. Much of this route is remnant of its former routing which stretched all the way to World Trade Centre.

In 2011, this route was amended to loop at Serangoon from Punggol to lack of space in the new Serangoon Interchange.

Fare: Charges fares for regular trunk services. See Bus Fares for exact fares.

Fleet: Service 82′s fleet comprises Merdeces-Benz Citaro and Volvo B10M MkIV buses.

Route Information:

Loop Service
Punggol Temp Int

Punggol Field

Punggol Rd

Hougang Ave 10

Hougang Ave 2

Upp Serangoon Rd

Serangoon Central

Boundary Rd

Upp Serangoon Rd

Hougang Ave 2

Hougang Ave 10

Punggol Rd

Punggol Field

Punggol Temp Int

Operator History:

1971 – 1973: Associated Bus Services Pte Ltd

1973 – 1995: Singapore Bus Services Ltd

1995 – 1999: Trans-Island Bus Services Ltd

1999 – 2001: Singapore Bus Services Ltd

2001 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2016.



1971 (11 Apr): Introduced as part of the 1971 Bus Reorganization, plying between Punggol Rd End and Prince Edward and operated by Associated Bus Services

1973: Operated by Singapore Bus Services (SBS)

1978: Amended to Jln Sultan, Victoria St and Kallang Rd

1987: Amended to terminate at Shenton Way Ter

1992 (29 Mar): Amended to ply Hougang Ave 2 and Ave 10

1995 (17 Dec): Handed to Trans-Island Bus Services (TIBS)

1999 (29 Aug): Handed back to Singapore Bus Services (SBS)

2003 (07 Dec): Under Phase 3 of NEL Rationalisation, route was shortened to Serangoon Int and amended to ply Punggol Field, Punggol Place and Punggol Central

2011 (3 Sep): Amended to start from Punggol Int and loop at Serangoon Ctrl and Boundary Rd following the opening of the new Serangoon Int. Deleted Punggol Road End sector replaced by new service 84. Pair of bus stops along Punggol Place were skipped.

2013 (31 Mar): Designated wheelchair-accessible bus route (WAB)

Past Routings:

Refer to this article

2011: Amended to present routing. No significant route changes since 2011.


External Links & References:

TransitLink E-Guide

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s