SBS Transit Bus Service 116



SBS Transit Bus Service 116 is a residential trunk route from Hougang Central Int and looping at Serangoon, passing through Hougang Avenue 4 and 9, Serangoon North Avenue 4 and Yio Chu Kang Road. This is also the third route to be introduced under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP).

^ SBST Mercedes-Benz Citaro (SBS6548Z) – Service 116, with advert wrap for LTA: Color Your Buses

Route Information
Route Hougang Central Bus Interchange ↺ Serangoon Central (Loop)  
Passes Through Hougang Ave 4 / 9, Serangoon Nth Ave 4 and Yio Chu Kang Rd
Route Length 13.0km
Travelling Time 50mins
Operator Information
Current Operator SBS Transit
Current Depot Hougang Bus Depot (HGDEP)
Current Fleet Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro
Departure Times from T1 0545 – 2330 (Daily)
Frequency Loop Service
0630-0830: 10 – 12 mins
0831-1659: 10 – 15 mins
1700-1930: 10 – 15 mins
After 1930: 12 – 15 mins

Route History

Service 116 is the third bus service to be introduced under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP). For more information on the BSEP, click on the link to a separate article. It is also the first new BSEP service introduced under SBS Transit.

The inter-town service improves on existing bus connections between Serangoon, Serangoon North and Hougang, complimenting existing Services 72 and 315 and providing more travel options for local residents.

“From Sunday, 18 November 2012, a new bus route – Service 116 – will be launched to provide commuters with better connectivity between Serangoon Central and Hougang Central. The new loop service will enhance connectivity for residents staying between these two housing estates, providing convenient access to key amenities such as the Hougang Polyclinic, Hougang 1, nex, schools, Serangoon and Hougang MRT stations and their town centres.”

Fare: Charges fares for regular trunk services. See Bus Fares for exact fares.

Fleet: Service 116′s fleet comprises of  Mercedes-Benz Citaros under the BSEP scheme.

Route Information:

Loop Service
  • Hougang Central Int
  • Hougang Central
  • Hougang Ave 4
  • Hougang Ave 9
  • Serangoon North Ave 4
  • Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
  • Yio Chu Kang Rd
  • Yio Chu Kang Link
  • Serangoon Central
  • Upp Serangoon Rd
  • Boundary Rd
  • Yio Chu Kang Link
  • Yio Chu Kang Rd
  • Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
  • Serangoon North Ave 4
  • Hougang Ave 9
  • Hougang Ave 4
  • Hougang Central
  • Hougang Central Int

Operator History:

  • 2013 – Present: SBS Transit Ltd

The Bus Service Operating License (BSOL) for this route will be renewed in 2016. 



  • 2012 (18 Nov): Introduced under the LTA’s Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP), plying between Hougang Central and Serangoon Central (Loop).
  • 2013 (31 Mar): Designated wheelchair-accessible bus route (WAB)

Past Routings:

  • Refer to this article
  • 2012: No significant route changes since 2012.




External Links:

  • TransitLink E-Guide
  • SGWiki – Buses

Back to Bus Services
Back to Bus Articles


4 thoughts on “SBS Transit Bus Service 116

  1. Besides the Mercedes Citaro Fleet, and it’s history of previous deployments, it is also found deployed on the vovlo b10m, reusing the plates used in its previous use.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s